Dose math
VapoCept Dose Math: What 200 mg Means Next to Study Doses
The VapoCept amounts, as listed in the brand's panel, are small next to the doses in studies. Arginine is 200 mg against 4,000 to 24,000 mg in blood pressure trials, which is 5% or less. Citrulline is 100 mg per salt against about 8,000 mg, and beta-alanine is 40 mg against 4,000 to 6,000 mg, about 1%. Those studies measured blood pressure and exercise, not memory.
Written by the VapoCept label deskUpdated
The short version01
How do VapoCept doses compare with the doses in studies?
They are far smaller. The panel lists 40 to 200 mg for each amino acid line, and the studies we cite used grams a day.
One gram is 1,000 mg, so a 4 g study dose is 4,000 mg and the 200 mg arginine line is one twentieth of it. Below is simple division, using the amounts as listed in the brand's panel (check your bottle).
On the ladder below, each step to the right is ten times more. We read each amount as a daily amount, since one capsule a day is the direction given.
Label amount vs research amount, log scale
-
L-Arginine (base)
5% of the low study amount200 mg4,000 to 24,000 mg a day in blood pressure trials; 2,000 to 20,000 mg in exercise reviews (Dong 2011, Oral L-arginine and blood pressure meta-analysis)
-
L-Arginine AKG extract
5% of the low study amount200 mg4,000 to 24,000 mg a day, the same arginine range; the AKG share of the 200 mg is not stated (Dong 2011, Oral L-arginine and blood pressure meta-analysis)
-
L-Citrulline HCl
1.7% of the low study amount100 mg6,000 to 8,000 mg a day (blood pressure and exercise studies) (Citrulline, perceived exertion and soreness meta-analysis (2020))
-
L-Citrulline Malate
1.7% of the low study amount100 mg6,000 to 8,000 mg a day; 8,000 mg of citrulline malate is the usual exercise amount (Citrulline, perceived exertion and soreness meta-analysis (2020))
-
Beta-Alanine
about 1% of the low study amount40 mg4,000 to 6,000 mg a day for weeks in exercise studies (NIH ODS, Exercise and athletic performance (health professional))
-
Niacin
47% of the adult RDA7.5 mgRDA 16 mg NE for men (14 for women); upper limit 35 mg a day from supplements (NIH ODS, Niacin (health professional))
-
Calcium
1.8% of the adult RDA18 mgRDA 1,000 mg a day for adults 19 to 50 (NIH ODS, Calcium (health professional))
Cyan marker: the amount in the brand's panel, as listed. Graphite bar: the range used in research (amber bar for the RDA up to the upper limit). Each step to the right is ten times more. A studied dose says what was tested, not what works for you, and no study tested VapoCept.
Arginine02
How much arginine per day do studies use, and how does 200 mg compare?
Blood pressure trials used 4 to 24 g a day (Dong 2011, Oral L-arginine and blood pressure meta-analysis). The panel lists 200 mg of L-arginine and 200 mg of L-arginine AKG.
Take the lowest studied dose, 4,000 mg. The 200 mg base line is 5% of it. If you generously counted both arginine lines as pure arginine, 400 mg would be 10%. We do not add them, because the AKG part is not arginine alone and the panel does not say how much is.
The one small thinking trial gave 3,320 mg a day to frail older adults with high blood pressure (Mone 2022, L-arginine in frail hypertensive older adults). The base line is about 6% of that, and it says little about healthy adults.
Arginine is not recommended after a recent heart attack, and it can add to blood pressure medicines, nitrates and sildenafil-type drugs (Mayo Clinic, L-arginine). Ask your doctor or pharmacist first.
Citrulline03
How much citrulline per day do studies use?
Exercise reviews most often used 8 g of citrulline malate a day (Citrulline, perceived exertion and soreness meta-analysis (2020)). The panel lists 100 mg of citrulline HCl and 100 mg of citrulline malate.
Together the two salts weigh 200 mg. That is 2.5% of 8,000 mg. The citrulline itself is less than 200 mg, because part of each salt is the hydrochloride or the malate.
The diastolic blood pressure drop appeared only at 6 g a day or more (Citrulline and blood pressure meta-analysis (Avicenna J Phytomed)). Against 6,000 mg, 200 mg is 3.3%.
No cited study tested citrulline for memory, focus or clarity.
Beta-alanine04
How much beta-alanine do studies use?
The sports nutrition position statement describes 4 to 6 g a day for at least four weeks (ISSN position stand, Beta-alanine). The panel lists 40 mg.
That makes the label amount 1% of 4,000 mg and 0.7% of 6,000 mg. The studied effect was on hard exercise, not on thinking.
Tingling is the known side effect, reported at 800 mg or more (NIH ODS, Exercise and athletic performance (health professional)). The label amount is 5% of that, so tingling is unlikely, though we cannot promise it.

VapoCept: 30 capsules, 30-day bottleOne capsule a day · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · $49 to $79 a bottle per the brand information, confirm at checkout
See packsAll seven lines05
What does each panel line look like next to its reference amount?
The table lists the whole panel. Percentages are our arithmetic, rounded, and they are not a claim about what the capsule does.
| Name in the panel | Amount as listed | Share of the adult RDA (our arithmetic) | Amount used in research | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Niacin | 7.5 mg NE | About 47% of the 16 mg NE adult male RDA, 54% of the 14 mg NE female RDA and 21% of the 35 mg supplement limit (our arithmetic; the panel's own percent was not supplied). | Adult RDA 16 mg NE (men) and 14 mg NE (women); upper limit from supplements 35 mg a day; flushing starts at 30 to 50 mg or more of nicotinic acid (NIH ODS, Niacin (consumer)) (NIH ODS, Dietary supplements: what you need to know) | A nutrient the body needs. 7.5 mg NE is about half the adult RDA; no study links this amount to memory or focus |
| Calcium (as Calcium Carbonate) | 18 mg | About 1.8% of the 1,000 mg adult RDA (ages 19 to 50) and 1.5% of 1,200 mg (our arithmetic; the panel's own percent was not supplied). | Adult RDA 1,000 mg (ages 19 to 50); 18 mg is a trace compared with food (NIH ODS, Calcium (consumer)) | A trace amount. Nerve and muscle cells use calcium, but 18 mg adds almost nothing to what food gives |
| L-Arginine (base) | 200 mg | No RDA for this line | 4,000 to 24,000 mg a day in blood pressure trials; 2,000 to 20,000 mg in exercise reviews (MSK, Arginine (About Herbs)) (Mayo Clinic, L-arginine) (Dong 2011, Oral L-arginine and blood pressure meta-analysis) | Studied for blood vessels and exercise, mixed results; no cognition trial found at 200 mg |
| L-Arginine AKG 2:1 Extract | 200 mg | No RDA for this line | Arginine AKG has few studies; the arginine range above is the closest match (MSK, Arginine (About Herbs)) (Dong 2011, Oral L-arginine and blood pressure meta-analysis) | Very limited evidence for the AKG form; none for thinking at 200 mg |
| L-Citrulline HCl | 100 mg | No RDA for this line | 6,000 to 8,000 mg a day in exercise and blood pressure studies (Trexler 2019, Citrulline and strength/power meta-analysis) (Citrulline, perceived exertion and soreness meta-analysis (2020)) | Studied for exercise and blood vessels; small or mixed effects; no cognition trial found at 100 mg |
| L-Citrulline Malate | 100 mg | No RDA for this line | 6,000 to 8,000 mg of citrulline malate in exercise studies (Trexler 2019, Citrulline and strength/power meta-analysis) (Citrulline, perceived exertion and soreness meta-analysis (2020)) | Studied for exercise repetitions; mixed; no cognition trial found at 100 mg |
| Beta-Alanine | 40 mg | No RDA for this line | 4,000 to 6,000 mg a day, split into doses, for 2 to 4 weeks or more in exercise studies (ISSN position stand, Beta-alanine) (NIH ODS, Exercise and athletic performance (health professional)) | Studied for short, hard exercise; no thinking trial found at 40 mg |
| Line | Panel amount | Reference | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| L-arginine | 200 mg | 4,000 mg (lowest blood pressure trial dose) | 5% |
| L-citrulline salts | 100 mg + 100 mg | 8,000 mg citrulline malate | 2.5% |
| Beta-alanine | 40 mg | 4,000 mg | 1% |
| Niacin | 7.5 mg NE | 16 mg NE adult male RDA | 47% |
| Calcium | 18 mg | 1,000 mg adult RDA | 1.8% |
Niacin and calcium06
Are the niacin and calcium amounts large?
Niacin is a real share of a daily need. Calcium is a rounding error.
The adult male RDA for niacin is 16 mg NE, so 7.5 mg NE is about 47% of it (NIH ODS, Niacin (health professional)). A share of a daily need is not a benefit for thinking.
The calcium line is 18 mg, or 1.8% of the 1,000 mg adult RDA (NIH ODS, Calcium (health professional)). VapoCept is not a calcium source. See the niacin page.
What it means07
Does a lower dose mean VapoCept cannot work?
It means the studies do not apply directly. We cannot say the product fails or succeeds, because nobody has tested it.
The FTC says research on one ingredient may not support a claim about a finished product when the dose or the combination differs (FTC, Health Products Compliance Guidance).
Our research page lists which studies exist, and the nootropic page covers the marketing word. Pack prices are on the pricing page, and the offers page explains why there are no extra discounts.
FAQ08
VapoCept questions people ask
What is the VapoCept dose?
The brand's information directs one capsule a day with an 8 oz glass of water. Per the brand's panel, as listed, a capsule has seven lines, from 7.5 mg NE of niacin to 200 mg of L-arginine.
How many mg of arginine are in VapoCept?
The panel lists 200 mg of L-arginine and 200 mg of L-arginine AKG 2:1 extract. We do not add them into one number, because the AKG share is not stated. Studies of arginine use 2 to 24 g a day.
Is 200 mg of arginine a lot?
No. It is 5% of the lowest dose in the blood pressure trials we cite, 4,000 mg. The medicine cautions still apply.
How much citrulline is in VapoCept?
The panel lists 100 mg of L-citrulline HCl and 100 mg of L-citrulline malate. The two salts together weigh 200 mg, and the citrulline alone is less. Exercise studies mostly used 8 g of citrulline malate.
Could the beta-alanine at 40 mg cause tingling?
Tingling is the known effect of beta-alanine, reported at 800 mg or more. The label amount is 5% of that, so it is unlikely, but we cannot promise it for every person.
Can I take more than one capsule to reach study doses?
No. Do not take more than your bottle says. Higher arginine doses can upset the stomach and lower blood pressure.
Sources (15)
- L-Arginine Improves Cognitive Impairment in Hypertensive Frail Older AdultsMone P, Pansini A, Jankauskas SS, et al. Frontiers in Cardiovascular Medicine 2022;9, 2022
- L-arginineMayo Clinic, 2026
- ArginineMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (About Herbs), 2022
- Effect of oral L-arginine supplementation on blood pressure: a meta-analysis of randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trialsDong JY, et al. American Heart Journal 2011;162(6):959-965 (authors from general knowledge; the fetched page showed only the title, journal and results), 2011
- Effects of L-citrulline supplementation on blood pressure: A systematic review and meta-analysisBarkhidarian B, et al. Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine (ajp.mums.ac.ir); authors and year are from general knowledge, as the fetched page showed only affiliations (Iranian universities) and a search date of November 16, 2017, 2019
- Acute Effects of Citrulline Supplementation on High-Intensity Strength and Power Performance: A Systematic Review and Meta-AnalysisTrexler ET, Persky AM, Ryan ED, Schwartz TA, Stoner L, Smith-Ryan AE. Sports Medicine 2019;49(5):707-718 (abstract via Duke Scholars), 2019
- Effect of citrulline on post-exercise rating of perceived exertion, muscle soreness, and blood lactate levels: A systematic review and meta-analysisJournal of Sport and Health Science 2020 (authors not shown on the fetched PubMed page; Rhim HC et al. from general knowledge), 2020
- International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: beta-alanineTrexler ET, Smith-Ryan AE, Stout JR, et al. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition 2015;12 (abstract via Northumbria University repository), 2015
- Dietary Supplements for Exercise and Athletic Performance: Fact Sheet for Health ProfessionalsNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Niacin: Fact Sheet for Health ProfessionalsNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2022
- Niacin: Fact Sheet for ConsumersNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2021
- Calcium: Fact Sheet for Health ProfessionalsNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2026
- Calcium: Fact Sheet for ConsumersNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2023
- Dietary Supplements: What You Need to KnowNIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2023
- Health Products Compliance GuidanceFederal Trade Commission, 2022
Who wrote this09
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the brand information, the brand's images and linked NIH, FDA, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site of Vapocepts, the U.S. stocking partner for VapoCept. It is not the manufacturer and it is not the sales page. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about VapoCept
U.S. stocking partner for VapoCept
Ready to try VapoCept?
Check your medicines first, especially blood pressure, nitrate or erectile dysfunction medicine, then pick a supply. One capsule a day; one bottle lasts a month. The checkout shows the live price and the guarantee terms before you pay.
- Secure checkout on the sales site
- 60-day guarantee (per the sales page)
- Ships from the U.S.

